American Epic - The Best of Blind Willie Johnson

$24.95 $20.00
(You save $4.95)
Write a Review

Texas slide guitarist and gospel bluesman Blind Willie Johnson recorded only 30 songs over the course of his life as a preacher and street performer. Even so, the savvy combination of his gritty and powerful "chest voice" singing style coupled with his mastery of slide guitar (some report he regularly used a knife as a slide) has given him a notably influential legacy, specifically with later bluesmen Howlin' Wolf and Robert Johnson. His tune "Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground" was selected for Carl Sagan's Voyager probe Golden Record, the Library of Congress as well as the National Recording Registry. Single LP with single pocket tip-on jacket with soft touch finish

The groundbreaking PBS and BBC documentary series celebrating the pioneers and artists of American roots music—blues, gospel, folk, Cajun, Appalachian, Hawaiian, Native American—without which there would be no jazz, rock, country R&B, or hip hop today.

Jack White, T. Bone Burnett, and Robert Redford have teamed up to executive produce American Epic, a historical music project exploring the pivotal recording journeys of the early twentieth century, which for the first time captured the breadth of American music and made it available to the world. It was, in a very real way, the first time America truly heard herself.

In the 1920s and 1930s, as radio took over the pop music business, record companies were forced to leave their studios in major cities in search of new styles and markets. Ranging the mountains, prairies, rural villages, and urban ghettos of America, they discovered a wealth of unexpected talent—farmers, laborers, and ethnic minorities playing styles that blended the intertwining strands of Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas. These recordings form the bedrock for modern music as we know it, but during the Depression many record companies went out of business and more than ninety percent of the fragile 78 rpm discs were destroyed. Fortunately, thanks to the continuing efforts of cultural detectives and record devotees, the stories of America’s earliest musicians can finally be told.

  Disc: 1

  1. John the Revelator

  2. It's Nobody's Fault But Mine
  3. If I Had My Way, I'd Tear the Building Down
  4. God Moves on the Water
  5. The Soul of a Man
  6. I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole
  7. Church, I'm Fully Saved Today
  8. Let Your Light Shine on Me
  9. Mother's Children Have a Hard Time
  10. Lord, I Just Can't Keep from Crying
  11. Trouble Will Soon Be Over
  12. Jesus Make Up My Dying Bed
  13. Bye and Bye I'm Goin' to See the King
  14. Praise God I'm Satisfied
  15. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning

  16. Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground



Thank you for supporting Blues Music, Blues Musicians, and Blues Music Magazine. HAVE A QUESTION? CALL: 1-855-US BLUES

Video Listed Below!

If you choose the CD & subscription option you'll receive 8 issues plus this BONUS CD. 

Blues Music Magazine is published four times a year. January, April, July, and October.

ATTENTION NEW SUBSCRIBERS: Please allow 8 to 12 weeks for your first issue to arrive. Blues Music Magazine is published four times a year. Thank you for becoming a member!!

ATTENTION RENEWAL MEMBERS: Please use the email address associated with your current account. If you use a different email address the system will create a new account and you may receive double copies. 

If you need to change your email address please click the image below and submit the web form.


Videos Hide Videos Show Videos